Genesis 4

Sunday January 8, 2012, 7:33 am
I just read Genesis 4. The first murder happened so soon after the fall. I wonder if there were other wrong things done before then. I have more things to add to my list of questions:
  • o   What did God mean when he said that Abel’s blood was crying out to him? It sounds like something pagan. Or was it merely symbolic?
  • o   Jubal, one of Cain’s descendants, was an ancestor of all who play the harp and flute? Was there a kingdom of flute-players in this time? That is what it sounds like but I’ll reserve judgment.
But here are the nice things I noticed:
  • o   God was merciful to Cain even though he was a murderer. Who is like our God, huh?
  • o   God addressed the issue of Abel’s murder personally. He didn’t let the people take care of it.
  • o   Cain lived long enough to be killed by Lamech, his great, great, great grandson who somehow did not take into account the curse God declared on anyone who killed Cain.
Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

What did you think of my post?

