Reflections on the Crucifixion – John 15

  • Jesus tells us how his disciples could be clean even though he had not yet died (John 13: 10, 11). He said that they were clean because of the word he had spoken to them (15: 3). What word, I wonder?
  • Jesus keeps telling his disciples to remain in him in this chapter. What does this say about people losing their salvation?
  • Apart from Jesus, I can do nothing (15:4 – 6).
  • We show ourselves to be Jesus’ disciples by bearing fruit (15:8).
  • When Jesus said ‘As the father has loved me, so I have loved you. Now remain in my love’ (15: 9), I thought about the crucifixion. The father loves the son and yet he was willing to condemn him to such a fate for us. In the same way, Jesus’ love for us might not preclude the possibility that he could sent us to places that hurt, not merely for our own good, but for others’.
  • Jesus cared about his disciples’ Joy. He wanted their joy to be full (15:11). Perhaps doing God’s commands should not be a chore, but a joy.
  • This whole chapter (and even the previous one) places emphasis on obeying Jesus’ commandments.

“Whoever has my commands and obeys them, it is he that loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my father, and I too will love him and will show myself to him” John 14:21

“If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My father will love him and we will come to him and make our home with him” John 14:23

If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love – John 15: 10

You are my friends of you do what I command – John 15:14, etc.

It makes obeying Jesus’ commands synonymous with loving him and being his disciple.

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

What did you think of my post?

