My Mother

I should be posting my reading notes but I have yet to write them so here’s a poem I learned as a child.

 

Who sat and watched my infant head

when sleeping on my cradle be

And tears of sweet affection shed?

My Mother

 

When pain and sickness made me cry

Who gazed upon my weary eye

And cried for fear that I should die?

My Mother

 

Who taught my infant lips to pray

And love God’s Holy book night and day

And walk in wisdom’s pleasant ways?

My Mother

 

Ah, no, the though I cannot bear

And if God please my life to spare

I pray I shall reward thy care

My Mother

 

When thou art feeble old and gray

My healthy arm shall be thy stay

And I will soothe thy pains away

My Mother

 

Happy Mother’s Day

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

What did you think of my post?

