Hey, What Happened to Our Discussion?

Rautakyy and I have been having a discussion in the comments section of my post: Test for an Unfaithful Wife. At one point, he seemed to suggest that Christians didn’t believe that evidence was part of Christian faith (i.e. Christians were supposed to “just have [blind] faith”) until the dark ages. I responded by saying that this could not be true because the disciples appealed to evidence in the Bible which was written long before the dark ages. In particular, I argued that when the disciples said that Jesus was risen, they didn’t say ‘you just gotta have faith’. They said they had evidence for it – that they had seen Jesus for themselves. Ergo, evidence was a component of Christian faith before the dark ages.

Rautakyy responded by completely dropping that point and picking up something else entirely! He said that there are other explanations for what the disciples saw besides the idea that Jesus resurrected. This completely threw me off. I thought we were talking about whether evidence was a component of the Christian faith before the dark ages? Why are we switching topics?

Does that mean he thinks I’m right or did he just not see it? Did he get tired of that line of discussion? Is he coming back to it? I don’t know.

I would like to say I understand this, but I don’t actually. I tend to have a one track mind. Unless the person I’m discussing with changes the topic, I like to keep discussing the same thing until we either tire of it or come to some sort of agreement. If it starts going off-track, I like to bring it back in line. Switching topics like this confuses me. For one, it introduces a new topic that I might have no interest in discussing or no knowledge of. It also makes me wonder why we are discussing the new topic. In short, I’m finding that I don’t really like it.

I suppose there’s nothing to be done about it. I’ll just keep scratching my head. Next, I shall write about the swoon, theory, Rautakyy’s alternative explanation for what the disciples saw. Oh, joy.

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

4 thoughts on “Hey, What Happened to Our Discussion?”

  1. Most atheists tend to use that tactic when you pin them into a corner. By switching topics they hope you will trip up and contradict your self giving them ground to get back up. If you haven’t read Lee Strobel’s “The Case For” series the evidence he lays out for believers and none believes is very enlightening and helpful when talking to atheists about christianity.

    1. I can understand that dropping a line of argument is just a gut response for when you have no response to someone’s argument. I think I used to use it myself. Most people probably do. The other option is to say “Okay, I was wrong and you were right”. Why subject yourself to that when you can just stop? What does upset me is the switching of topics. If you don’t want to talk about it anymore, that’s fine. But don’t switch topics. It’s disorienting.

      I like to give people the benefit of the doubt in these cases just because it goes a long way towards promoting community and Rautakyy and I have been having an enlightening discussion so far.

      Yes, I have read the case for series. I thought the books were enlightening and useful as a resource for beginners to Apologetics.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  2. I am sorry. I did not know I was “cornered”, nor that I was using any “tactics”. I follow the flow of the conversation and sometimes any topic needs a sidenote to be taken. I do not have a “one track mind”. Rather I see things in wider scope. This was by no means deliberately meant to confuse anyone or to set any mindtraps, or anything like that. If something I write is off-topic the Blog owner may point this out and simply ignore such claims. From now on, I will try and keep my comments stricktly within the topic. 🙂

    1. We’ll just write it off as a misunderstanding then. I’m sure keeping your comments within the topic will help both of us. As you can see, it is easily taken to mean a lot of things and confuses me a great deal. It’ll also help keep your comments shorter 😉

What did you think of my post?

