Husband Wanted. See Below for Required Qualifications

English: Act I scene from Oscar Wilde's "...
English: Act I scene from Oscar Wilde’s “An Ideal Husband”. Preformed by two young actors from the Arts Umbrella Senior Troupe in Vancouver, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This morning I saw an article titled “10 Things Women Want in a Man”. I thought, “Please tell me what they want so I know what not to want”. Still, as the day progressed, I began to think of what I want in a husband.

First, the basics:

Required Characteristics

  1. Is a Christian. I don’t mean that he must claim to be a Christian. I mean that he must pass my test for a redeemed Christian.
  2. Has God as the most important thing in his life.
  3. Has a proven ability to hold a good job. He needs to do well enough that I can stop working to care for the kids.
  4. Has good basic morals – doesn’t cheat, steal, engage in premarital sex, get drunk, etc.
  5. Doesn’t lie. This is very important. I think of lying what I think of gambling while drunk with two naked prostitutes beside you and a wife at home.
  6. Is diplomatic
  7. Understands the importance of gentleness and practices it.
  8. Has solid reasons for being a Christian not just “I feel that God exists”.
  9. A well reasoned stand on social and economic issues.
  10. Has read the Bible through at least once or is in the process of doing so.
  11. Loves God more than anything else. (There’s wiggle room around this one. I understand that not everyone can be perfect.)
  12. Is intelligent, so that I can respect him.
  13. Is actively involved in spreading the Gospel
  14. Isn’t West African

Other preferable qualifications:

  1. Can cook
  2. Can sing
  3. Frequently cleans up after himself.
  4. Wants lots and lots of kids.
  5. Likes to play pretend
  6. Will buy me a teddy bear
  7. Comes from an intact biological family.

I’m sure I can think of more characteristics in time.

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

What did you think of my post?

