Reading Note – 1 Chronicles 14 – 20 – God Rewards the Righteous

I chronicles focuses a lot on David’s service to God and God’s resulting blessings to David. It reminds me of one of Psalm 1, which talks about the person who keeps God’s laws.

That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
whatever they do prospers. – Psalm 1:3

For a long time, I’ve resisted the claim that ‘whatever they do prospers’. It might seem like a silly thing to do, but if I don’t believe that God blesses whatever the righteous do, then I won’t feel disappointed when my endeavors fail. Now that I’ve said that aloud, it reveals two things. Firstly, that, somewhere deep down, I consider myself the kind of person described in Psalm 1 and secondly, that I believe that God doesn’t really guard the endeavors of the righteous like the passage says. The first seems like hubris – but what can I do about it? The second bears further investigation. I can’t remember when I first began to think that way, nor  can I remember why. I can’t even remember what God failed to give me that resulted in this belief, but 1 Chronicles says otherwise. God gave David victory over his enemies because David obeyed God. God blessed Abraham and Solomon too because they followed him.

It does bear mentioning, however, that in both cases God specifically promised those people that he would bless them.

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

2 thoughts on “Reading Note – 1 Chronicles 14 – 20 – God Rewards the Righteous”

  1. Hi Tracy,
    I’m not in a position to say anything on your first concern, except to mention a possible solution to the Hubris thing. I believe you’re only really at risk of taking undue pride in being that kind of person if you believe that you are in some sense justified by your behaviour. That is, if you look at Jesus teaching on fasting, praying, etc in a way that doesn’t seek to glorify yourself, and the wider NT teaching on being saved and made righteous exclusively through faith and Jesus work therein, you’ll probably find that you can consider yourself righteous without being proud.

    As to the second point, it’s worth bearing in mind that even people who were promised blessings didn’t have consistent smooth sailing throughout their whole lives–you’ve read through the stories of both and know that as well as anyone. That doesn’t mean the blessing wasn’t there or God wasn’t involved; Psalm 23 is by far the best loved of all 150 and makes the point that even “in the valley of the shadow of death” we can still see God’s hand at work.

What did you think of my post?

