Reading Note – Psalm 2 – The Lord’s Anointed

This is treated by several New Testament writers as a messianic psalm. Part of it is quoted several times in Hebrews 1, Romans 1, and by Paul in Acts 13:

I will tell of the decree:
The LORD said to me, “You are my Son;
today I have begotten you.
Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage,
and the ends of the earth your possession.
You shall break them with a rod of iron
and dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.”
(Psalm 2:7-9 ESV)

I can’t see a 1st century Rabbi disputing it. It’s full of all the conquering messiah stuff. What’s interesting is that it says the wrath of the son is quickly kindled, despite the fact that God is traditionally slow to anger.

Yet,

“Blessed are all who take refuge in him”. (Psalm 2:12 ESV)

Published by

Tracy

I’m Tracy

What did you think of my post?

